Ren faire again!

Hello again, welcome back! Oh, wait, I shouldn’t be the one saying that, should I? Seeing as I’ve neglected this blog for months again. I haven’t been doing much costuming, due to a lack of time and (more importantly) money. But I have done a little.

20131004-163649.jpg

I went to the Bristol Renaissance Faire this year! And, of course, dressed up, although my costume was pretty slapdash owing to the fact that we didn’t decide to go until two days before we went. I went with two of my sisters, neither of whom had ever been to ren faire.

20131004-163658.jpg

I’m wearing the green corded bodice from last year, which you may recognize. The orange skirt I whipped up the night before and it’s pretty rough. Underneath I’ve got my short sleeved shift (which as you can see needs to be reworked a little; the underarm gussets are too small, I think, and the sleeves won’t stay on my shoulders,) and my tan petticoat from last year as well. The sash at my waist was originally supposed to co around my head, but I tied it around my waist to hide the ugly back of my bodice.

20131004-163703.jpg

20131004-165630.jpg

Here’s a picture of my concept, which was kind of a piratey theme. In the end, however, I didn’t have the hat and waistcoat done in time, so I gave it up. Who’d have thought it would be so hard to find a decent pirate hat at this time of year?! The waistcoat, actually, was finished, but I was two hooks short of being able to close it properly – so close!

Anyhow, it was a lot of fun. Maybe I’ll pull out the pirate idea again next year, with some proper planning. (But really, where’s the fun in that?)

Leave a Reply

