Lucia cosplay for Anime-Zap! 2015 – cape

I made a change to my line-up for the convention, and instead of doing the Dark Althena costume from Lunar: Silver Star Story, I’ll be doing Lucia from Lunar: Eternal Blue instead.

lucia2

There were a lot of reasons for this decision:

1. Despite trying a number of times to redesign the Dark Althena costume for modesty in a way that pleased me, I couldn’t come up with something I really liked, and honestly I dislike the idea of changing a design just to suit myself.

2. It’s going to be January in Chicago, and I really don’t want to be wearing next to nothing even if I plan to be inside the whole time.

3. I own Lucia’s pendant – the PSOne re-release of Lunar 2 had arguably one of the coolest box sets of any video game ever, and inside that box set, along with a whole bunch of other goodies, was a life-size official replica of Lucia’s pendant, which just made me wonder why in the heck I never considered this cosplay before in my life!

4.  Lucia is badass, is any other reason needed?

lucia1_large

This costume required some thought before I went about actually starting to make it.  She doesn’t wear it for very long in the game and there aren’t really any good pictures of what the whole thing looks like (the bromide above is the best image you get of what she’s wearing.)  How the cape looks under the neck/shoulder thing she’s wearing and how it fastens together is not really clearly seen.

EBC0909

 

There’s obviously an opening in the front, however it seems to overlap quite a bit – shoulder to shoulder, at least, because when she stands with her arms inside, there is no obvious opening.  I sketched some designs, and came up with a basic design for a cape that is made of straight panels, gathered at the shoulders to give it volume, with some kind of a collar, that overlaps from shoulder to shoulder.  I played with some old sheets on my dress form, and came up with a basic working pattern.

IMG_0253

I used red cotton sateen for this cape – not a choice I’m entirely happy with in retrospect; I think I might have preferred something even heavier.  I traced my pattern pieces onto the fabric, and then extended the shoulder width, to allow for room for pleating.

IMG_0254 IMG_0255

I pleated the shoulders on the cape back panel, which was one piece, and the two front panels, and then sewed them all together with french seams. I had to take in the shoulders a number of times because they were too big and gave this weird sort of balloony effect that I didn’t like.  I think a heavier fabric would have hung better.  Anyway, I just kept taking in my seams until it fell nicely from my shoulders.

For the collar, I just wanted to make a simple standing collar – it won’t be seen anyway underneath the neck piece/shoulder armor thing, whatever it is.

IMG_0256 IMG_0257

I was going to line the collar with some stiff canvas I had, but lo and behold, it was nowhere to be found… naturally!  So instead, I cut two more strips of the sateen and stitched them to the inside – the stitch line is on the inside of the collar so it doesn’t bother me.  Then I attached the collar, and hand tacked it down on the inside.  The extra layers of fabric help it to stand quite nicely without flopping around.

IMG_0263

Here’s the top of the cape, all finished – doesn’t look like much, does it?  I put hooks in two places on the collar to keep it shut, since it overlaps almost the entire front half of the collar.

IMG_0262

And here’s me, tiredly modeling the cape!  Right now, it’s only pinned where it overlaps in the front, but I’m going to put some buttons there, probably the same ones I’ll put on the rest of the costume when I get around to making it.

 

So, I got something accomplished today, even if it wasn’t what I planned to!  It gives me such a feeling of accomplishment to finish things in one day – I’ve broken up all my costume lists into small tasks that can be done in a day.  It’s back to work tomorrow, but next week I’ll be tackling the black uniform that Lucia wears.

Leave a Reply

