Lucia cosplay for Anime-Zap! 2015 – uniform, part one

Well, I didn’t get nearly as much done this week as I thought I was going to.  I had two extra days off for a total of eight days – which seems like a lot of time, but it vanished pretty quickly!  Although, I lost two whole days to being sick and I had a lot of chores to do, which ate up most of another day.

I meant to get this whole uniform taken care of this week, but so far, I’ve only got one piece done – the jacket.

lucia1_large

So, I studied Lucia’s uniform as best I could given there aren’t a lot of pictures of it and it doesn’t get a lot of screen time in the game.  I came up with a list of items to make to complete the outfit: a jacket, pants, boots (or possibly boot cuffs if I have a pair that works,) gloves, and that belt/loincloth type thing she’s wearing.  I began with the jacket.

For this project I bought some black stretch sateen, which is a nice looking fabric with a nice sheen, and, bonus, it stretches!  I threw together a quick pattern by draping on my dress form, and got to work.  There’s no visible opening on the jacket in the picture, but it looks to be double-breasted, so I designed it that way; it comes to about hip-length, and is slightly tapered to a point in the back.

IMG_0291

This was my back piece pattern.  I added a little extra room to have a pleat at the center back.  No other reason than that I though it would look kinda cool.

IMG_0292

My mum has a lovely little BabyLock serger, which I don’t often make use of – I put a lining in nearly everything that I make, which eliminates the need to finish the edges.  But I didn’t have the time, energy, proper fabric, or desire to line this jacket (I have a feeling it’s going to be hot underneath this and that cape, and I didn’t want to add to that if I didn’t have to) so I opted out of lining it, and serged all the seams instead.  So quick and easy!

I was lax with the picture-taking again, but the construction went mostly the same way it always does – I sewed the front and back pieces together, and then drafted a basic sleeve pattern, and attached sleeves.  I made a facing for the neckline, and hemmed all the other edges.  Then I tried it on to mark out where my button holes would be.

IMG_0293

Sewing button holes.  Mine are obviously far from perfect, but they serve their purpose.  I don’t know if I’ll ever get good at doing button holes and eyelets; mine are always just… a little bit off-looking.

I couldn’t really tell what kind of buttons she’s got on her uniform – they look kind of like they might be gold/red toggles, but there’s no way to tell.  So I just grabbed some nice silver military-looking buttons instead.

IMG_0296 IMG_0297

Here’s the finished jacket, complete with buttons!  It turned out quite nice, for something which will mostly not be seen…

IMG_0298

I also threw together this belt/skirt/whatever thing she wears around her waist.  It’s made of the black stretch sateen and some scraps of the red sateen I used for the cape, and hooks in the back.  I’m not sure yet how I’ll get that stripe design or whatever it is on the front of it – I thought of embroidering it, but I’m not sure it will look the way I want.  More likely I’ll find some matching fabric or ribbon and just tack it on.

Also, I stumbled upon this really neat app lately for cosplayers – Cosplanner.

IMG_0483

It helps you to keep track of your costumes and projects, and I’m finding I like it a lot – It’s clearly designed for cosplayers, but I have ideas of using it for all my costuming projects.  And it’s free, so that’s a win!  Anyhow, you can see the ones I’m currently working on – all of my and my sister’s Anime-Zap! costumes are there.  You can also see how not close to finishing I am overall, considering that this convention is in January – yikes!  Having lists and percentages really helps me keep track of things, though, so this app was a great find.  Up until now I just had pages and pages of checklists on my phone that I was trying to keep track of, and it was kind of a mess.

Leave a Reply

