Black Lady cosplay – photos

The shoes I ordered from Ebay for my Black Lady costume arrived today, and were waiting at the door when I got home from work… so naturally I had to try them on.  And then, of course, I had to put on the dress to see how they looked together.  And the dress just didn’t look the same without the wig, and then… I ended up with the whole costume on, so I took some pictures.

Let me talk about these shoes for a moment.

IMG_0446

I can’t explain with words the ordeal that was me trying to find the perfect pair of Black Lady shoes.  I know I am overly picky about some things – a lot of things in particular with this costume – but I was getting frustrated with myself over these shoes.  I scoured every website that sells shoes from Amazon to Zappos, and could not find the perfect pair of black satin stiletto slingback shoes, in a good combination of style, right size, and decent price.  I literally hounded Ebay for weeks, scrolling through pages and pages of black satin pumps, and every time I found a pair that was almost perfect, there was something I couldn’t get past – the heel was too short, the toe wasn’t pointy enough, the size was wrong, or the price was really wrong.  I did find a couple of “absolutely perfect” pairs – the most affordable of the lot was a pair of Jimmy Choos, if that give you an idea.

Anyway.  The other pair I decided was almost absolutely perfect was the Coach Hollis shoes in black satin – for a not so perfect price of about $100.  Still, I nearly talked myself into getting them, reasoning that I would wear them for other occasions – and I would; they’re lovely – when I came across these Stuart Weitzman black satin pumps on Ebay at a much lower price, and I decided that I’d start with the cheap shoes, and if I totally hate them, then I’ll splurge on the expensive ones.  Well, these came in the mail today, and I love them – a lot more than I thought I would from the pictures.  They are, in fact, almost perfect – they just need some pearls attached to the back strap to be exactly Black Lady’s shoes:

2-blacklady

I’m so very pleased.  I expected to be kind of “eh” about these shoes, and I really am happy that they look so good.

Well, on to the photos.

DSCN0518 DSCN0522 DSCN0523 DSCN0524

 

These are definitely not the best pictures I ever took, but by the time I realized, I was already out of my costume.  And I’m much too tired to bother putting it back on.

A few thing obviously still need to be done: the blouse needs the rest of the jewels glued on; the shoes need their pearls; the wig is only half-styled (and looks horrible and snarled right now, but I was so not even bothered with combing it for these pictures.)  I need to move the chiffon panel inside the dress up farther; it gets lost behind the heaviness of the skirt.  And I really need some tights.  The slit on this dress goes up quite far.  It gives me a sense of accomplishment to actually put on a costume and see how it’s come together.

Leave a Reply

