Lucia cosplay for Anime-Zap! 2015

I’m getting excited – all of my costumes are nearly done!

I’m hopefully going to get everything finished and take some photos of each costume this week.  Here’s the first installment: some photos of my Lucia cosplay, which might be my favorite thing ever.

DSCN0528 DSCN0529 DSCN0531 DSCN0533

I really just love this costume, now that it’s all come together.

The cape and jacket I covered in previous posts; the trousers I whipped up last week, and they were so much easier than I expected.  I literally just traced around a pair of jeans I own that fit me really well, and used that as my pattern; I serged all the seams, put a couple of darts at the waist, and put a hook to close them in the front.  They’re pretty utilitarian – nothing fancy (although I did mean to do pockets, but I forgot >_>) but they fit great and look great.  So I’m quite pleased.

I still need to make the hat and gloves, and the armor, which I’m working on tonight with some craft foam.  Also need to add a hook to the top of the jacket, because the neckline kind of flops open a little when I move around.  The boots are a pair that I own already, and they look good enough that I’m not going to bother with boot covers or cuffs or anything like that.  Although I’m a little miffed that I didn’t take into account the heels, and so the cape falls just a bit short of hitting the ground when I’m wearing it.  But it’s so not a big deal in the grand scheme of things.

I think I’ve got my makeup down for this cosplay, too; the wig still needs some work.  I’ve used a number of cheap Ebay wigs over the years, but this one I think is the worst in quality I’ve ever had – it’s super thin and really unmanageable despite spending a week in a fabric softener bath to sleek it up.  It came with a lot of built-in snarls, too, that I had to cut out they were so tangled.  I’m hoping once I have the hat on it will disguise the fact that the wig sucks a little bit.

Leave a Reply

