Vash the Stampede cosplay for ACen 2015

Okay, I haven’t mentioned this cosplay since I really wasn’t sure how it was going to turn out – but since ACen is, uh, this week, I better get blogging about it!  Me and two of my sisters are going to ACen on Saturday in Trigun cosplay – and I get to be Vash the Stampede! (⊙ꇴ⊙)

Trigun is one of my favorite manga ever, and Vash is a cosplay that I have literally been wanting to do since I was fourteen.  I never really got a good chance, and I forgot about it for a while, but it was brought up when we were discussing our plans for the convention this year, and I convinced my sisters to go with me dressed as Meryl and Milly, for a nice little group!

DSCN0558 DSCN0557 DSCN0556 DSCN0555

Here it is, in all of (well, most of) its glory!  I have to say, I’m really pleased with how this whole costume turned out.  I had to fudge some parts, and it’s not as elaborate as I might have liked, due to time constraints.

I based my costume design off the outfit Vash wears in Trigun Maximum volume one, which is the second version of his coat, and with the half-blond-half-black hair.  A couple of reasons for that – of all his coat designs in the manga, I like that one best, and it appeared to be the simplest in construction (I’m not saying it was simple, though.)  The only major alteration I did to the design was to make the coat with four flaps instead of six, and only because my body is too slim to accommodate six flaps – the coat would have been much too big, or the flaps would have been much too skinny.  Also, my natural hair is too dark to hide beneath a fully blonde wig, and the half-and-half one really looks a lot better, because my dark hair blends in a bit.

Side note – that wig is probably my greatest cosplay accomplishment to date, no joke.  I’ll cover it in another post, but I went through a long and sucky process to end up with that wig.

I’ll make another post about construction of this costume later; I’ve got to round up all my pictures and notes from the last month and a half of working on it.  Although there was nothing really singular about making this costume; it was just a lot of work.  I still have a bit more to do – the coat is missing a couple pieces, and I need to put straps and buckles on the gloves (or at least the left one, the one you can see.)  Time permitting, I may add straps and buckles to the boots, too, but I think they look okay without.  The wig needs a bit more trimming, too.  I really should know better by now than to leave everything to the last minute!!

Bonus pic:

IMG_0824

I made some prop donuts to bring with to the con.  I wonder if there will be any other Vashes there to share with!

One thought on “Vash the Stampede cosplay for ACen 2015

Leave a Reply

