a refashion for Halloween ’16

So, I mentioned last time that I had a couple of projects lined up for the rest of the year – since it’s now officially Halloween season, I started working on my costume for this year, one I’ve been wanting to do for a very long time – Glinda the Good Witch of the North, whose costume in The Wizard of Oz is truly legendary.

1536_GlindaGoodWitch75yrs_56

I’m not going the whole nine yards and creating the gown from scratch – I would like to do that someday, but today is not that day – instead, I’m making over a gown I recently scored at a thrift store.

I scored this pink, sparkly, sequiny prom horror story at a thrift store a few weeks ago, specifically with the idea of refashioning it for this costume.  The plan is to add some overlays and, of course, the big poofy sleeves, and I went out today and got some sheer, sparkly pink fabrics to match the dress.  I’m ready to tackle this sparkly nightmare, armed with a bottle of silver glitter fabric spray paint!  With the right petticoat, some work on the bodice, and plenty of glitter, I think this thing stands a chance of looking right okay.  I’ll be working on it this weekend, so expect a progress report soon!

Leave a Reply

